Saturday, April 29, 2017

Small Business Award winners-2016



CONTACT: Carrie Rice
Marketing and Communications Director
256.535.2018 office, 256.326.2018 cell


Aug. 30, 2016—Tonight, the Chamber of Commerce of Huntsville/Madison County held a 1960’s themed black-tie gala at the Davidson Center for Space Exploration to announce the 2016 Small Business Award (SBA) winners across 14 categories. Over 950 people attended the gala to support our 130 award contenders!

Clearly, there is no shortage of outstanding small businesses in Huntsville and Madison County as the Chamber received over 1,700 SBA nominations this year! We also added several new SBA categories (see asterisk categories below). To determine the winners, the Vail Valley Partnership kindly provided a panel of judges. All applications were submitted directly to Vail Valley Partnership through a secure server and evaluated anonymously.

Thanks to our Presenting Sponsor S3 and all our outstanding sponsors and volunteers! Also, a very special thanks to our fab emcees for the evening, Jeff Gronberg, President and CEO of deciBel Research and our 2016 Chamber Vice Chair for Small Business and Events, and WHNT news anchor Clarissa McLain.

This was the 31st anniversary of the Chamber’s Small Business Awards. The winners are:

*Brewery of the Year
Straight To Ale LLC

Business/Professional Services Business of the Year
Transcend LLC

*Culinary Business of the Year
LawLers Barbecue

Emerging Business of the Year
Cintel Strategies, Inc.

Government Contracting-Business/Professional Service Business of the Year

Media Fusion

Government Contracting-Technology Business of the Year
Avion Solutions, Inc.

*Medical Practice of the Year
BrookeMD Primary Care

Nonprofit of the Year (2 Awards)
Community Foundation of Huntsville/Madison County
Neighborhood Concepts, Inc.

*Retailer of the Year
Signs By Tomorrow Huntsville

Service Business of the Year
Southern Construction & Design Inc.

Technology Business of the Year

*Women-Owned Business of the Year
Kids to Love Foundation

Russell G. Brown Executive Leadership
Tim Thornton, nLogic

Young Professional of the Year
Alana Parker, Rocket City Drywall & Supply, Inc.